Secret Baby Notes: feeling the early effects

This week I am sharing some posts that I saved as drafts about being pregnant.  I call them “Secret Baby Notes” because I wrote most of them before we shared our news with the world.  I wrote all of them quickly and never read them again until recently – boy, am I so glad I took the time to record those thoughts as I will cherish each of them forever.  I hope you enjoy them.

***Originally written on January 6, 2011***

January 8, 2011 – 6 weeks

Tomorrow you turn 6 weeks old and I can imagine that if we fast forward to your birthday plus six weeks, we will have learned so much together.  I imagine that much like going to college to become a teacher – taking the classes, listening to advice, and lesson planning I won’t know what to do until you are here.  And even then all my schooling and studying won’t really matter because we will just have to figure out how to do this thing once you arrive.   And then, well, then we will just have to figure this thing out together.   But at six weeks, I hope we will have found a groove of ebb and flow.  I will no doubt be sleep deprived and you will no doubt be getting cuter as the days progress.

And as for today, today was my first day back with students for the new year.  It was fun knowing I had a secret and hard at the same time because I HAD A SECRET and it was taking over my brain!  I felt good physically and mostly normal but as the day progressed, my back got sore, I got so very, very sleepy, and my belly felt full.  Really full.  It was the first time my favorite thrifted Abercrombie corduroys that fit me just right have ever fit me tight.  So tight that I really wanted to just leave them unbuttoned but I didn’t have a long enough shirt on to ensure safety while doing that.  Tonight my tummy has been rolling and I am getting glimpses into the future where my clothes don’t fit and I can’t get comfortable just sitting or laying down.  I’m not complaining but it is so strange to feel my belly sticking out there and realize that this is just a scratch on the surface for what is to come.  Bring on the baby belly!

Update on Oct. 7, 2011 – you are 5 weeks old and we are starting to find our flow of sleeping, eating, changing, eating, bouncing, and on and on.  Just like I thought though – we are figuring this out together with some good days and some hard days.  Sleep has been more abundant than I thought it would be and my, my are you cute!!

***Stay tuned for the next “Secret Baby Notes:  life with diabetes”***

Catch up with the other “Secret Baby Notes:”  background history, and THE news

One response

  1. Pingback: Secret Baby Notes: life with diabetes « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

