Sweet Summer Lovin’

So much summer goodness and so little daily structure leads me to struggle putting words into type around here.

Here are a few several confessions:

  • I love summer TV ten million times more than regular season TV.  Design Star, So You Think You Can Dance, The Bachelorette, Wipeout, Last Comic Standing all consume serious amounts of my time.
  • Our garden is growing more volunteer tomato plants than actual plants this year and I think that rocks.
  • Side pony tails with headbands are my summer “do” this year.  I can’t get enough of them and Dan most certainly can!
  • Greek yogurt is really good with blueberries.
  • We made some pretty sweet memories getting sunburned tubing down the Yampa River while camping in Steamboat this past weekend.
  • Being on the water encompasses all thing summer to me.
  • I have tried my hardest to get to know and love mountain biking and I just don’t love it.
  • I love staying up late.
  • WordPress created a new customizable blog theme that allows me to post larger photos so I updated my layout.
  • It is still a work in progress but it feels good to change the look of things around after nearly two years of steady blogging.  What do you think?
  • Dan and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary while shooting Aaron and Kellie’s wedding day.
  • We are now and always will be anniversary pals.
  • I finished editing their wedding photos.
  • It took me longer than I wanted but I discovered it took longer to narrow down the 2,500 pictures Dan and I took together than it did to actually edit them.  Who knew?
  • Starbucks still continues to lure me in.
  • In less than a month, I will be 30  years old.
  • Some days I stay in my PJs until 5pm because I don’t have to leave the house.
  • Diabetes can be a full-time job and it is much easier to keep things in check when I don’t have to go to work.
  • My A1C is lower than it has been in 7 years.
  • My parents came to visit over the 4th of July and Dan and I got to take a mini-vacation with them to Lake Dillon.
  • While on that vacation, we made an offer on a house in Brighton.
  • I found the house in foreclosure while casually looking online and within the week we viewed, studied, and made an offer.
  • We never do things that fast.
  • Homes in foreclosure are tricky little son of a guns.
  • I refused to allow myself to think of paint colors for the house until we won the bid
  • We won the bid yesterday!
  • By the end of August, we will be the proud owners of a 1928 bungalow house.
10 responses

  1. That sounds like a great summer list! Especially the house part!! Congratulations! Pictures, please!!
    Good to get a little update from you!
    Lots of love,
    Katie Lady

    July 22, 2010 at 7:03 p

    • Jen

      Hope you are also enjoying the dwindling days of summer. Pictures will be on the way for sure.

      July 23, 2010 at 4:09 p

  2. Love the new blog design, and congrats on the house! Brighton is a great town. Sigh, I miss Colorado!!

    July 22, 2010 at 10:41 p

    • Jen

      Kelly, you all are welcome here anytime!

      July 23, 2010 at 4:10 p

  3. Monica

    Congrats on the house, Jen! Our first house was a foreclosure too – a HUD foreclosure which made it even more of a son of a gun! Regardless, welcome to homeownership!! You will love it and hate it all at the same time – but mostly you’ll love it. And just remember what my great grandmother says – A house is a thief. It’s true for all homeowners but it is totally worth it. Have fun decorating! Can’t wait to see pictures!! -Monica

    July 22, 2010 at 10:43 p

    • Jen

      We are embarking on quite the adventure – and I believe your great grandma was on to something. I kinda love that advice/encouragement/precaution. So wise.

      July 23, 2010 at 4:12 p

  4. Julie

    I too, want to see the ‘before’ pics of the new/old house. Your mom described it to me and it sounds really cool. Bill and I love Prairie style and bungalows with porches, and of course Frank Lloyd Wright style… Enjoy it. Glad to hear the diabetes is much better controlled this summer!

    July 22, 2010 at 8:59 p

    • Jen

      Julie, I’m excited to check out some architectural salvage places in Denver. I know you guys are a fan of those!

      July 23, 2010 at 4:13 p

  5. Yay! Congrats on the new house!

    July 23, 2010 at 2:02 p

    • Jen

      Thank you, thank you!

      July 23, 2010 at 4:13 p

Leave a Reply

