Crested Butte and all it’s glory

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

***I couldn’t decide which pictures I loved most so I made a little slideshow with ALL of my favorites.***

To say that Crested Butte is cute is an understatement.  That town is downright charming.  I couldn’t get enough of the downtown area and the view of the Butte was amazing.  We got to stay in the best Bed and Breakfast and we will definitely revisit the folk at The Elizabeth Anne in the future.  Kevin’s stuffed french toast was out of this world.  We also got to enjoy some amazing burgers at The Last Steep.  We loved it so much that we went back for their artichoke cheddar bread bowl soup the next night.  Plus, the owner is a KC native so what’s not to love about that?

The town was more than charming, the food was more than excellent, our B&B was perfect, and the skiing . . . well, the skiing was intense.  Crested Butte puts the steeps at Taos to shame.  CB is just so VERTICAL.  The challenging snow conditions coupled with the crazy weather on the first day (think – wind, fog, snow, sun, cold, snow) made a few of our runs not my favorite.  I had a little meltdown midway down a double black diamond run and I was never quite the same after that.  Exploring a new mountain is always fun but the enormous amount of expert terrain made it hard to relax.

Our second day came with some fluffy stuff to soften the crud conditions and the blue skies and warm sun helped ease a little of my frustrations from the first day.  Crested Butte is steep.  Did I mention that?  My ankles actually got tired of balancing on the side of the mountain.  I didn’t put in a full ski day because I just couldn’t take it NO MO but Dan enjoyed flying down the chutes while I warmed myself at a fire pit with other tired folks.

Overall, a beautiful get away for Dan and me.  We had so much fun hanging out in the car and exploring this new place but we were glad to make it back home to see our pups.  We will definitely have to plan another trip to CB and I think I might like it even better in the summer.  I hear they have the best wildflowers in the state.

5 responses

  1. Jen, Bill and I went to CB for a long weekend the same year you and Dan got married. We went out for Lianne & Walt’s son’s wedding (the folks in Maine your mom and dad visited w/us last summer). We went in June, and hiked around and the wild flowers were amazing! I believe the symphony spends a week there sometime in the June, so you can enjoy outdoor concerts too. It is a beautiful, though long drive from Denver, as you know — but worth it. The Harris’s son and his wife still live there. If you saw the little bagel shop, Izzy’s there, it was a restaurant they started and sold for a huge profit a couple yrs ago. They are both chefs, working for others at this point. I think they are considering opening a Vietnamese or other restaurant there. Bill and I took the ski lift up the mtn and walked down. Oh my gosh, even walking in the summer is a challenge due to the steep nature of it and the slick dirt road. Fabulous view from the top though!

    April 5, 2010 at 7:22 p

    • Jen

      Julie,
      Thanks for the comment. CB is seriously one of the cutest places I’ve ever been. I think my parents would really like it there – all the shops are local and they don’t have a single chain. Pretty cool! Oh, and I did see that bagel shop…they have such a great variety of places to eat.

      April 5, 2010 at 3:46 p

  2. chris

    Glad you guys had a good time. Im in for next time. Rachel had a melt down too this past weekend. We took a wrong turn in the middle of a snow storm at the top of steamboat to get to the gondola lodge for lunch and oops it was steep black. After some screams of terror and tears of despair Rachel made it down in one piece without taking a digger.

    April 5, 2010 at 7:10 p

  3. Dan

    Taos to shame?! WTF? They’re equally steep, though CB edges out Taos on sustained steeps, mostly because of Spellbound.

    Need I remind you who had a breakdown at both resorts?

    April 5, 2010 at 8:45 p

  4. Glad you liked CB. We stayed at the same B&B last time we were there. Oh I miss the mountains! You should go back in the summer for sure. Its so beautiful.

    April 6, 2010 at 9:32 p

Leave a Reply

