even the best fall down sometimes

Dan was away at Taos skiing for the weekend so I had to endure Saturday’s game against Northern Iowa and KU solo.  It was brutal.
My emotions ranged from anticipation, nervousness, hope, hopelessness, and then all out WORRY.  The inevitable happened and the clock expired before they could get more baskets than their opponents.

Seeing them lose was not unlike looking forward to a new movie.  The movie has all the best people, a great director, the perfect setting, all the makings of a classic.  However, instead of leaving the theater feeling great, you leave feeling down because, in the end, the guy doesn’t get the girl, the dad dies, and the enemy escapes.  It is the kind of movie you think about the next day and feel sad because somehow it just fell short.

Even the best fall down sometimes.

I know my movie analogy is silly and that the Jayhawks losing is not life or death.  There are people in Denver sleeping on pavement tonight for crying out loud.  I know it is just a college basketball game but it still matters.

It matters to me.

It matters to Dan.

It matters to my mom and dad.

It matters to people all over the country.

After the game was over I was all out of sorts.  I could not watch any more basketball.  I got in my car and just headed out to take my mind off.  I’ve been meaning to stop and take some pictures of this field of once alive sunflowers.  They have been gone for some time but they still remind of the season.

I’m looking forward to a new season.

To my sunflower state Kansas Jayhawks, I will remember your season and be glad for all the sunshine it brought me along the way.   I’m just sad and sorry it had to end so soon.

2 responses

  1. Dan

    Stupid Jayhawks! Since you fooled around and got beat now there’s no one to stop Kentucky and greasy Calipari!

    Stupid, stupid, stupid.

    March 22, 2010 at 11:39 p

  2. Bill refused to watch the game and left for the bedroom before the half. He knew what was happening. He sat in there with music on loud and ear plugs in, so he wouldn’t hear me cheering. It really isn’t the most awful thing to happen to any of us, but was terribly disappointing.

    I hope either K-State or Baylor will give everyone a run for the money. Go Big 12!

    Jennifer — I LOVE the stark beauty and lonliness of the sunflowers.

    March 23, 2010 at 9:42 p

Leave a Reply

