Spontaneous Ski Day

As mentioned,  I have been in a bit of a funk so I jumped at the chance when my long lost pal, Janel, called on Saturday to invite me on a girl get-away.  Turns out she had a free day at Winter Park and, after not skiing for two years (something about having a baby…), she was ready to hit the slopes again.

She booked a bed and breakfast and within a matter of hours, we were on our way up the mountain in the pounding snow.  It was so good to re-connect and relax.  We took a great recommendation for dinner in Frasier at a fun little family pizza place then settled into our sweet room overlooking Main St. to watch a chick flick.  The movie left nothing to be desired but we kept things fun by laughing at home videos.

Our day on the slopes was jam packed with plenty of fresh snow and fun runs led by a long lost Missouri friend.  Jared showed us some routes through the trees and ways to avoid (some) poling on the WP traverses.  I still HEART Copper but after such a fun day with old friends at Winter Park, I’m willing to give a few more tries.

Thanks Janel, I needed that!

3 responses

  1. Janel

    I needed that too!!! So refreshing for the soul and wonderfully tiring to the muscles. There wasn’t a single moment I didn’t enjoy (even if the movie was kind of a flop). Lets not wait so long next time!! Luvs & Hugs-Janel

    February 24, 2010 at 10:40 p

  2. Pingback: searching for me « The Story of My Life

  3. Pingback: 09-10 ski season ends « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

