INVISIBLE (GO/venture2: day2)

http://lovelife.typepad.com/.a/6a00d83451617e69e20120a821eddd970b-pi

See Kal’s drawing HERE.  See Elise’s handprint HERE.

I’m a day late getting this one up but I figure if you all knew about the monstrosity we’ll call yesterday then you would understand.  I started out thinking about the INVISIBLE prompt as a way to view perception – you know, more than meets the eye kind of thing.   I played around with a keyhole visual but could never really get anywhere.  I was all set to try something with negative space and the things that seem invisible if we are just looking at the subject.  Both of those were fine ideas but they weren’t very personal.  I decided to create the word invisible out of my diabetes test strips for checking my blood sugar.  Living with Type 1 diabetes definitely has its ups and downs (literally!)  Read on to hear more about this story.

Allow me to explain.  Let’s just say that I braced for a busy day yesterday and that was an understatement and then when my school day was officially over, I couldn’t leave because I believed I would a.) pass out on the drive or b.) lose my lunch on the way to the car.  Both of those options coupled with a low blood sugar led to me laying on the classroom floor next to the trashcan, eating graham crackers, talking on the phone with Dan.  I know, you wish you were me, am I right?  So yea…the blood sugar was low and despite forcing myself to swallow the grahams eventhough I really just wanted to hurl I kept eating and kept checking my blood sugar.  I cannot begin to explain the frustration I felt after every 15 minutes checking my blood sugar and seeing the reading go lower and lower.  67. 58. 58. 56. 48. 48. 46.  This went on for an hour and a half.  And then I lost my lunch in the trashcan, several times.  It was not awesome.

What was awesome then though was the fact that my blood sugar went up to 80 meaning I could drive myself home and also my stomach felt less like it was trying to punch me in the face.

I got home two hours after the ordeal began and felt confident things were on the up and up.

Not so, my friends.

I got feverish and visited the dreaded porcelain god two more times before just calling it a night.  One more trip to the bathroom before my fitful sleep led me to a substitute at school today and an all day date with my bed.  I am feeling less achy and less puny but my spirits are still a little low.  While fixing myself a piece of toast, I realized that diabetes is my invisible right now.  I like to think that I keep it hidden, aside from the tubing sticking out from my pump in my pocket.  I don’t try to hide it…I just don’t want it to be a big deal – define who I am.  And, afternoons like yesterday continue to prove that “just because it isn’t visible doesn’t mean it isn’t there.”

So there you have it.

I am doubtful that I will get around to today’s prompt of COINCIDENCE on time, especially since I am already buzzing about tomorrow’s word of the day PERMANENT.   Lots to think about.  In the meantime, check out the other great creations at the Flickr group right HERE.

4 responses

  1. jstjessie

    i like the pictures, very creative 🙂

    February 3, 2010 at 5:15 p

  2. Very meaningful message, Jennifer. I will also pray that your blood sugar will one day become much more manageable. Thanks for sharing. Hope you get over the flu soon too.

    Julie

    February 3, 2010 at 7:59 p

  3. o-girl

    Thanks for sharing your story. Ugh…sorry to hear your day was so rough. I hope & pray you don’t ever have to experience that again. Your GOventure art for ‘invisible’ is perfect and profound.

    February 4, 2010 at 12:45 p

  4. Man, what a craptastic day. Hope you stay feeling well. Kudos to you for doing these prompt projects. Love what you’ve done!

    February 4, 2010 at 9:23 p

Leave a Reply

