reason #429 why I teach elementary art

I feel silly saying this but I thought of you, dear blog readers, in the middle of my third grade class today.  It was one of those moments where I was having a laugh attack just knowing I had something truly great to share with you all.

Today was a studio day and most kids were coming up with amazingly creative ideas such as:

“The Tower of Doom”

Or Guitar Girl – complete with a Perrier bottle microphone.

Or how about this clever Kleenex box “rabbit catcher” or cereal box jet?

I also really liked this soup can contraption with a string attached to the lid for “blast off”.

No doubt these kids are clever and extremely creative.

So, now for the point of all this…

Behold (enter drumroll please…dddddaaaaddddaaaaddaaaaa…..)

The “fake anis sale.  —->”

(enter lame cymbals soundbite – badumbum)

Did you catch that? 

Fake anis sale!

Now, bear with me…normally I’m pretty good at sounding out their spelling mistakes but this one takes the cake.  I asked the kiddos what this was all about and they said so nonchalantly that this was about aliens – see the one in the box?  The tiny little pot belly stick figure .  It’s an alien – of course(just click on that bad boy to get a closer look!)!  So by anis they actually meant alien.  I know that the word anis is actually spelled “anus” however, how can you not read that and think of the latter.  Seriously, is this not just the funniest thing you’ve seen all day?  I tell ya, it sure made my day and still does.  I didn’t even bother correcting their spelling (they were so proud of their aliens!)

So, who needs guitars and rocket ships when you can git yur very own fake anis.  I mean…really?!

I wonder if they’re cheap?

2 responses

  1. Hilarious! I’m going to go add fake anis hole to my Christmas list.

    November 24, 2009 at 2:16 p

  2. Dan

    The funniest part is that you’re still giggly about it this evening…

    November 24, 2009 at 8:19 p

Leave a Reply

