way back when

reflection

I can picture the glow of my desk light and the dust on top of my Aiwa 3 cd disc changer.  I remember the awful smells wafting from around the corner from my first floor door room at Truman State.  I recall the pages of prayer journals filled with worries, hopes, and dramas as I struggled to find the flow of my first semester in college – my first few months living away from home and being completely in charge of myself.

Its funny how even though those days are way long gone most of those memories are still right here in the now.

And all this flashing back just because Kiss Me by Sixpence None the Richer came on the radio tonight.  Music sure can send you back in time.

How about you, dear reader?  Where were  you 10 years ago?

8 responses

  1. Katherine Grousnick

    About ten years ago, I was enjoying leading a small group with you!! Doesnt seem like it was so long ago 🙂

    November 3, 2009 at 6:04 p

    • Jen

      Katherine, so good to hear from you! You, me, and that group of girlies was the beginning of it all! I so loved those times we had together. Ten years? Really? Wow!

      November 3, 2009 at 11:17 p

  2. Katie

    Probably hanging out with you, since we would have met at Freshmen Week festivities a couple months prior! 🙂

    November 3, 2009 at 5:50 p

    • Jen

      It was the shoes – I loved the shoes you were wearing during Freshman Week. So glad to have you in my life. Miss you Kates!
      PS – I don’t think Sophie could get any cuter right now -those eyes, those cheeks. So cute!

      November 3, 2009 at 11:19 p

  3. hey jen!

    thanks so much for your comment on my blog… i just had to jump over here and say hello. you are so not a stalker… : ) its comforting to know that you were/are in the same boat. i love it here but it is most definitely still really hard not knowing anyone. oh well… this too shall pass!

    love your blog… and the photos of all the snow we just got.

    hope all is well…
    amanda

    November 3, 2009 at 10:43 p

    • Jen

      Amanda,
      Thanks for stopping in. Let’s be blog buddies? Cool?

      November 3, 2009 at 11:20 p

  4. danielle

    I remember going up to Lincoln to visit my cousin and attending a Huskers football game. We sported the red and white, and laughed at a guy yelling something all game that sounded like “Let’s go Ebay!” I got a shirt to go to the game, and I’ll never forget how good the tacos were out there. I wore my Huskers shirt the other day and tried to remember why I am a fan since I’m not from Nebraska nor did I attend the school. Thanks for the memory jump start. 🙂

    November 4, 2009 at 7:13 p

  5. Dan

    Getting ready to party like it was 1999.

    November 4, 2009 at 11:32 p

Leave a Reply

