over October

crochet crush

I had such a blast hanging out with Tambrie last night ordering dinner out, talking shop, brainstorming Christmas gifts, making last minute Michael’s runs, and sipping Starbucks.  In between trick-or-treaters and watching Elizabethtown, she taught me how to crochet and I now I am addicted (why do you think I put this off for so long!?)

She told me it would be a little hard in the beginning until I found the flow.  She said I would need to learn how to use my fingers and my muscles to hold the yarn and that I might even go through a period of dissolution, just like teaching.  I struggled a bit at first to find the flow and then when I did I still made it harder than it had to be by forcing the needle and pulling the yarn.  I do that.  I try so hard I make it harder than it has to be.

I’ve got to be honest, October was really tough.  I’ve been down more than I’ve been up and I think part of that had to do with the unending sickness that lasted all month.  I am taking steps to put me back into a good place.  I am still riding high from our recent snow storm (eventhough the snow has completely melted already) and I have Christmas on the brain.  Yes, Christmas.  In my opinion, it is the most wonderful time of the year and all this other stuff in between – just filler.  There, I said it.  In any case, it is November now.  And while, in the past, this has also been a hard month I do have hope.

Copper Crochet

I took things slow today and started out Fall Back morning with some coffee and crochet.  I put some background music on and let my fingers find the flow.  It worked.  I stopped trying to force things and I just let my muscles get comfortable with the tension and movement.  As I look at this month, my old October self would normally see it as a long-haul.  As in, all the weeks are full 5 day weeks, no break until Thanksgiving, no relief.  However, as I understand the rhythm of the yarn I see this as a chance to really find some flow.  No interruptions, no sickness, no conferences, meetings, snow days to get us out of sorts.  I hate saying it but I think it will be really good for me.

November Note

So, here’s to November – a fresh start to finding the flow and one month closer to Christmas!

Leave a Reply

