“plise” and knowing

plise

*found near the trashcan in the art room.  Such careful drawing and such admirable spelling.

Well, it was Monday, not terrible and not fabulous.   Just Monday.  Things are rolling along mostly smooth in the art room these days but for some reason I really missed the sweet kooky world of what was this time last year.  I miss that room of six students and one-to-one teacher/student ratios.  Sigh.  Now-a-days I have 600 students a week.  Just me.  No co-workers to giggle with at the crazy things kids do and say.  I’m not complaining…nooo…just remembering a past life and kind of missing it.  Missing those kids.  Those kids that I knew and could predict their moves and their needs.  Those kids I knew.

I’ve gone back to visit a couple of times.  It makes my heart so happy to see them and remember our good times but I know it isn’t the same.

My life is in a different place now and so is theirs and that’s okay.

I look forward to a time when the 600 feels more like 6 and I know these kids better.  It takes time, years maybe.  I guess that’s why when I find a random doodle on the floor, I keep it because, in some strange way, it makes the 600 seem smaller and more personal.

Dang, I miss those kids.

my milagre

*My Milagre from the art conference.  My miracle?   Getting this fantastic opportunity to teach art again at a really great school.  Even if it meant saying good-bye to those special kiddos from last year.

One response

  1. Mom

    You could go back to school and get certified to teach Special Needs kiddos and have the best of both worlds. Mom

    October 27, 2009 at 3:19 p

Leave a Reply

