Art Conference Recap, Part 1

The CAEA Fall ART Conference, October 8-10, 2009

dirty tree

dirty art

dirty heART

*painting with dirt and water.  Mud is so simple and so gratifying as paint!

Filipino Parols

parol in process

parol with salted watercolor

*Filipino Parols are awesome cultural Christmas traditions.  Simple basketry reeds plus rice-like paper and watercolor plus pizazz!

tongue stick

winker

our mobile creations

*Alexander Calder inspired mobile faces.  These were challenging but gratifying.  Tambrie’s is on the left and mine’s on the right.

Brief Recap:

I’m back and back in the swing of things.  The conference was fantastic – I just loved being around like-minded folks.  My friend Tambrie and I talked each other’s ears off about the ins and outs of our classrooms, ideas for projects, likes and dislikes of our daily grind, dreams, supplies…you name it – we covered it and then we talked about it again!  It was great.  Plus, we even got to go shopping!  What a dream.

I learned a lot and got so many new ideas my brain is going to need this whole week to process them.  The above images a just little snipits of a few workshops from Thurs. and Fri.  I’ll share the Sat. images for tomorrow.

I saw great products and I saw simple ideas that I can put into practice right away.  I also learned and rethought a lot about how I approach my teaching style.  Art is meant to be about self-discovery and I think PLAY can have a lot to do with pushing kids to solve their own problems.  I think the biggest thing I took away from this conference was a renewed sense of myself.  I got to be a student and learn new concepts.  I got to learn how to felt, make a mobile, sit and draw outside, collage, and get my hands busy painting, stapling, bending, pulling, smoothing out clay.  I got to create and regardless of whether or not I ever teach any of those lesson (and I definitely will!) I got to get my hands messy and my brain moving while creating my own art.  AND IT MADE MY HEART SO HAPPY!  So, at school tomorrow will be filled with a little guided instruction and ALOT of letting kids get their hands moving making art while encouraging self-discovery and problem solving.

I can’t believe how great I’m feeling after spending half of my Sunday preparing 600 student grades.  Must be my full art-love tank!

One response

  1. Hi Jen! Where do you teach? I liked the works, looks like it was a lot of fun!

    October 11, 2009 at 11:42 p

Leave a Reply

