Instant Classic

rusted

Remember that amazing historic shot Mario Chalmers of the 07-08 Jayhawks took in the NCAA basketball tourney?  Yea, the one he shot at the buzzer and swished to get the Jayhawks into the Final Four.  Everyone said it was an instant classic, as in, they immediately began playing it on ESPN Classic channel and everyone watched it on edge of their seat each time it played as if it was happening for the first time.  Instant classic.

Although I am only a basketball fan and not a player, I had my own classic of sorts today.

Enter my classroom.

The scene:  Fifth grade art.

The characters: The art teacher, played by me.  A typical fifth grade class clown, played by Matt.  Group of fifth grade boys, played by boys in fifth grade.

Matt was goofing off, still working on his art while the rest of the class cleaned up and got lined up to leave.

I said, “Matt, time for working is over.”
He replied, “Just one more sec.”
I responded, “Nope, no more secs…”  (as in no more SEX!)

(My immediate thoughts:  oh no didthatjustcomeoutofmymouthmaybenooneheard oh . my . gosh!!!!)  Busted!

Cue fifth grade boy giggles….

I’d like to say I started laughing with them which is exactly what I SHOULD of done, but I didn’t.  I kept my game face on and just gave them the teacher head shake and squinted eyes.  (why did I do that???)

I did laugh out loud as soon as they left.  I laughed out loud at lunch and then I told my co-workers.  I laughed out loud this afternoon and now when I typed it to you, I laughed out loud.  It was funny.  It is funny.

It was instant classic.

2 responses

  1. Erin

    That is a classic friend. Love it. I’ll never forget when a teacher that I was aiding said “ass cracked” instead of “glass crackled” while reading a book aloud to the class. I had to leave the room.

    September 10, 2009 at 6:20 p

    • Jen

      Ohhhhh, that is a good one. Teehee.

      September 10, 2009 at 9:32 p

Leave a Reply

