breathing underwater

handstand-rows

So I’ve been quite funky this past week.  I know it has a lot to do with some future uncertainties concerning my job path and I realized last night that I was letting those things get in the way.  I read a short devo. that talked about how the future is supposed to be a secret and, at times, it can feel flimsy – even precarious.  When it comes down to it, I am worried about my summer plans (and possibily future) right now.  I have been around the block anywhere from a teaching job that I hopelessly despised to, this time last year, working five different jobs simultaneously.  And while I liked each of my five jobs separately – together they almost did me in.  I don’t want to go back to these places.

So, right now I am truly trying to stop rebelling and worrying, put one foot in front of the other, and trust that the steps along the way are already being paved.  Oh man, that is hard and, yes(!), I am scared.

I am so glad that I have daily reminders like “U” from school who calls me Ms. Hennifer because he can’t say js.  I get to teach him how to read and add everyday.  Today, he learned how to count pennies and dimes while we played store.  It’s things like that help me to keep life in perspective – even if it feels like an underwater handstand progression at times.  Who or what helps you keep things in perspective?

**Thanks to my cousin Brock for the amazing display of underwater acrobatics!

One response

  1. Pingback: Self Art Therapy « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

