sometimes danger really does ROCK?!

sign outside of Alpine Meadows at Copper Mtn.

because sometimes danger really does ROCK!

We’ve passed this sign countless times on our way thru the gates at Alpine Meadows at Copper Mountain.  I have always thought it was comical and I tend  to get a funny kick out of various posted signs (I’ll share more sometime!) so we stopped for a photo opportunity.  Little did we know the foreshadowing that would follow.

Danger Dan

Danger Dan

my danger ROCKS pose

my danger ROCKS pose

So shortly after Danger Dan’s pose and technically during my danger ROCKS fist pump pose, Dan did something dangerous.  Danger didn’t seem to rock so much anymore because, apparently, there are some sharp dead trees in Alpine Meadows.  Forget the rocks, maybe they should call it Alpine Deadows since the trees can take the life right out of your sweet ski coat.  Just ask Danger, err….um, Dan.  Maybe I should just call him “Ripper”.

Danger Dan and his dead coat sleeve

Danger Dan and his dead coat sleeve

Yes, that is the sleeve of Dan’s coat.  Yes, you can now see through it.  No, that is not a Spyder “special feature”.  Needless to say, we spent the evening out gathering research for a new coat.  Sometimes danger is dangerous.

***UPDATE***

We dropped off Dan’s sleeve at Spyder in Boulder and they are going to fix his sleeve.  Spyder, you are awesome.  Thanks for making our dangerous not so expensive this time!

2 responses

  1. Dan

    I LOVED that jacket. The loss of my jacket hurt more than my shoulder.

    But, never fear, my friends at Spyder are patching it as we speak. It will be like that stupid country song about how chicks dig scars, but this it tore my jacket instead of my rotator cuff.

    I’ve probably skiied past hundreds of thousands of trees at this point in my skiing, so it should be another three or four years before I meet up with another half fallen tree with a jacket ripping barb that’s obscured by another tree’s branches.

    Remember, all men die, but few men truly live.

    February 6, 2009 at 11:06 p

  2. Jen

    Thanks for the update, Danger Dan (aka, the ripper!)

    February 7, 2009 at 8:42 p

Leave a Reply

