Keeping It Real

dam

I finally made it to the Denver Art Museum (the DAM, tee hee) after 2 years of saying “I should do that!”  The museum was good, not the best ever but it had some fun parts like hanging out with my friend Andi and seeing this installation by Sandy Skoglund.  I used to teach my art students about her work but I have never seen one in person.  This is 3-D, not a painting and those are real people in the background.   So creepy and cool. 

fox-games

After seeing so much art, I headed out about town to try to conquer a few of my Christmas creation ideas.  I have so many fun projects swimming around in my head that I had to make a list just to keep them all straight.  I am so unrealistic when it comes to Christmas present making but I am trying to keep it real this time.  After a few stops, I rushed off to meet Dan for church.  It was so good tonight with the baptisms and I really want to remember how to give more, especially now since times are harder for most people.   More on that sometime soon as I put my thoughts together.  I snapped this sunset on the way to church. 

sky fire

sky fire

Oh, and before I forget to tell you all, Starbucks – “Take this job and shove it.”  Whoa, that sounds kind of harsh now that I’ve said/typed it out loud but it is official.  Friday night was my last night at Starbucks.  It has been a long time coming but of course it seems bittersweet now.  I am sure I can get used to having ONLY one job for the first time this year.  Maybe I can actually get all of my Christmas creations created but I have my doubts!

One response

  1. Pingback: why am I such a night owl? « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

