Pulling the Trigger

self portrait before

self portrait before

Well, I did it.  About 3 years ago, I made up my mind that once in my life I wanted donate my hair to Locks of Love.  I’ve been waiting for the right time to pull the trigger.  I have enjoyed my long hair a lot but over the past month or so, I just knew it was that oh so critical time.  So, yesterday I made an appointment for this evening and then I fretted this day away. 

before back

back before

Dan met me at the salon for moral support.  The initial cut wasn’t too bad.  In fact, after she cut off 10 inches, I was pretty excited.  It wasn’t too short and it felt great ( I have a lot of hair and it was HEAVY!).  After she washed it and started actually styling it, I sort of went into regret mode.  In addition to the already missing 10 inches, she cut an inch to two inches off for some of the layers. YIKES! 

10 inches for L.f.L!

10 inches for L.o.L!

Overall, it is shorter than I wanted but I think I like the cut.  I don’t like the way she styled/dried it-poofy and sticks out in funny ways.  This is going to take some getting used to for sure but it was worth it.   I already made a stop at Target for new hair clips for the sweeping bangs dilemma! 

self portrait AFTER!

self portrait AFTER!

back after

back after

When we got home,  I don’t think Quattro recognized me. 

silly dog

silly dog

5 responses

  1. Mom

    I love your new “do”! But then, I think you would look pretty even without any hair. It seem very fitting actually–the reason behind this whole thing was to help someone else without hair look pretty. I also think it makes you look happy. And hopefully your hair will help make someone else happy. You are a beautiful– both inside and out. And I’m not just saying this because you’re my daughter. I am so proud of you. Love, MOM

    November 7, 2008 at 2:42 p

  2. Marcia Hurst

    Hi Jennifer,

    You look adorable with your new haircut!! How nice of Dan to be there with you for encouragement 🙂 You were beautiful w/your hair long, but you look darling w/it short. I give the new hair-do two thumbs UP!! Enjoy the weekend. BTW – wouldn’t it be something if we talked your mom into donating her gorgeous hair to L.f.L. !!!! Also, thanks for being a generous donor.

    XOXOX – marcia

    November 7, 2008 at 2:45 p

  3. Marcia Hurst

    Hi again – Isn’t it funny that your mom and I were commenting AT THE SAME TIME!!!! We both wanted to say the SAME THING—that you look perky with your new haircut—but we were both afraid to say THAT word!!! We are such moms!!

    more Xs and Os – marcia

    November 7, 2008 at 3:01 p

  4. Jen

    You gals crack me up. I am so glad that you both can be SUCH GREAT MOMS together!

    November 7, 2008 at 6:09 p

  5. katie s.

    LOVE IT!

    November 12, 2008 at 11:40 p

Leave a Reply

