hindsight is 20×20

***Disclaimer*** Bare with me all you wild kitty or meowing tiger fans – there is more to this post than just Jayhawk lingo. 
I'm a Jay, Jay, Jay-Hawker!

I'm a Jay, Jay, Jay, Jay-hawker!

My parents and I had a blast at Late Night last weekend.  In fact, we had so much fun that we decided to stay in Lawrence over night so that we could shop Mass St. on Saturday.  

perfect complements

perfect complements

We had not planned to stay and we had not packed a thing, we are adventurous like that, oh yes.   We drove around for about an hour looking for the best price, best place to stay.  The pickings were slim but we managed to find a room and then we headed out to get some overnight supplies.  You know, the usual…toothbrush, deodorant, contact solution, and a hostess cherry pie.  We were tuckered out by the time we made it to bed after a long night of cheering for those Jayhawks. 

family fanatics

family fanatics

beware of the PHOG

beware of the PHOG

Rock Chalk, Baby!

Rock Chalk, Baby!

In the morning, my dad was so sweet and tried to make coffee for my mom.  Now, an important note here is that my dad is not a coffee drinker, he prefers tea, so the very act of making coffee is quite foreign to him.  Nevertheless, he grabbed the cup next to the coffee maker and filled it with water and dumped it into the coffee maker.  At this point, my mom woke up only to see his kind gesture.  However, he was not greeted so kindly when my mom asked him what he used to fill the maker.  It seemed like a strange question to him considering he just used the cup next to coffee maker-the cup that I put my contacts in about 6 hours prior.  At this point, I sat straight up in bed and shouted, “YOU DID NOT JUST USE THAT CUP, DID YOU??????”

But yes…oh, yes…that cup was now empty and yes, oh, yes, my dad had made coffee with my contacts. 

We sifted through the coffee with no luck even though I did find one contact stuck in the filter.  Using only one contact doesn’t work and my spare pairs sat safely in my bathroom IN DENVER!  I had no glasses (remember, no packing for this adventure!) and I had no sight.   After a few moments (okay, it was more like an hour and a half) of frustration, I was able to get my prescription from Costco and they sent it to a local eye shop where we paid the low, low price of $27 for a trial pair.  At this point, the $2 lens case from the grocery store last night seemed like a no brainer. 

lawrence law won

lawrence law won

The rest of our day was spent at the farmer’s market, scoping out the latest finds up and down Mass St., feeding the meter, and getting parking tickets.  Overall, a great day!  So the moral of this story is, when in Lawrence for the night, don’t stay at the Rodeway Inn, take pictures of neon Jayhawks signs, pack extra undies, and never, never let your dad make the coffee. 

glow KU

glow KU

Jay-Glow

Jay-Glow

One response

  1. Pingback: ll < >> day 2 « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

