When Life Gives You Lemons…eat lemon cake

Today wasn’t exactly the day I had imagined.  I got to sleep in and relax.  For lunch,  I made some tomato mozzarella for Dan.  I think this looks so yummy and I try really hard to like it…but…I don’t. 
fresh mozarella, tomatoes, and balsamic with basil

fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and balsamic with basil

I also made a whole meal for my best gal pal, Janel, and her family.  She just welcomed this little one, Josiah Ryan into the world on August 22nd. 
he's waving, how sweet

he's waving, how sweet

And after we visited with them, Dan and I headed to Home Depot to pick up some additional supplies for the deck project.  I really can’t even talk about the events that unfolded after this but here is a picture to show the aftermath. 
yes, that is my windshield

yes, that is my windshield

Yes, there are four 10 ft. posts in my car.  Yes, that is my windshield.  Yes, I watched it crack.  Yes, I was upset.  Yes, I was mad.  Yes, I was so upset and mad that my stomach hurt.  No, I still cannot actually talk about this……………………. 
When we got home, I finished putting together a lemon cake I baked earlier.  I was still so upset about my windshield that instead of making dinner, I just finished icing the cake and ate a piece of that. 
have my cake and eat it too

have my cake and eat it too

I think it did make me feel little better because it was lemon and a double-decker.  But in the end, I still felt yucky.  Sigh.  I’m sure tomorrow will be better, but for now, I’m just bummed about my car (again).  
**Update**
 Quattro just peed on our spare bed after we gave him a bath.  At first, I was really mad at him but then it made me think of this magnet I have hanging on my bulletin board.   
Amen!

Amen!

I think I’m with him on this day…

Leave a Reply

