Paint + Fabric = Instant Gift

gift for baby Christian

gift for baby Christian

I was in need of a baby shower gift a few weeks ago so I decided to try out this silhouette idea I had seen floating around the Internet.  The project is by Anna Maria Horner and I just love how mine came out!  It’s simple but effective. 

You stretch fabric over a canvas, paint it with mod podge to seal it and make a smooth surface, transfer or draw on your shape (animals are always fun), then use acrylic paint to fill in the outsides.  You can see her tutorial here.  **Note, I also taped off the edges of my extra deep canvas to show off the cute fabric on the sides too. 

close-up detail of drawing

close-up detail of drawing

painting out the negative space

painting out the negative space

Ta-Dah!

Ta-Dah!

It is the season of babies around here so if I give you one similar to this in the future, act surprized!

2 responses

  1. Erin

    I LOVE this idea! You ain’t no bluebird thats for sure. So fun to know your blog now. You know whats funny is that I never really got why she called us that until now. Maybe its was better that way :).

    August 28, 2008 at 7:47 p

  2. Jen

    Thanks Erin, I will have to say that I think we both turned out alright considering her insults. I wonder what she would say about us now???

    August 28, 2008 at 10:44 p

Leave a Reply

