dashboard confessional

I’m mourning the loss of my beloved cup right now.  I know it’s stupid and I shouldn’t love *things* but I really found joy in using this silly cup.  It is a double walled hard plastic cup I bought at Starbucks early this summer.  I love it because it has a hard straw (every drink tastes better with a straw) and a twist on lid that sealed.  It was the perfect cup! 

NEW STARBUCKS 16oz CLEAR HARD PLASTIC TO GO TUMBLER CUP

I used this cup every morning with my iced coffee and at other various times throughout the day.  Dan often made fun of me because I was so obsessive about this cup and sometimes he threatened to recycle it.   So, here is the sad part-I took it to our student car wash this past weekend and I enjoyed some water throughout the day.   At the end of the wash some parents were helping me clean up and I guess they thought it was just a regular to-go Starbucks cup and threw it away.  I’m sure that’s what happened.  In fact, I was so sure that it got thrown away that I actually went to the Firestone Tires location that we did our wash at and looked in their trash bin where we put our trash bag on Sunday.  Needless to say, it had been collected since then so I was not victorious.  Sigh…I just looked on the Starbucks website to see if they had any more, no luck.  I also just did a google search and, big sigh, they are selling for nearly $50 including shipping on ebay.  Seeeeeeee, I’m not the only one who loved this cup.   Give me a few days to get over my loss and I’m sure I will have searched out something slightly as cool. 

Anyways, something equally as disturbing as my dead cup is the current state of my Alero.  (I know, this is an amazingly gripping post today, isn’t it!)  But just look at this ~ !

shouldn't this be IN my dashboard?

shouldn't this be IN my dashboard?

  Dan took apart so much of my car late last night that as I was sitting with him I told him I had to go in the house because it was stressing me out to see it like that.  Seriously, take a look at this…

Yikes!

Yikes!

The method to the maddness was brought on by the fact that yesterday while driving to meet the Fresh Paint ladies, my car died before getting on the highway.  I’ve been having some trouble with my security feature and my car sometimes thinks I’m stealing it eventhough I’m just trying to start it or, say, I don’t know…drive it someplace.  Weird.  Anyways, I got it started again and headed out on I-25 during rush hour.  I was jamming out to some nice KBCO tunes and all of the sudden my car died while I was in the fourth lane to the left in the middle of rush hour.  NOT AWESOME.  I knew I could coast but I didn’t know for how long so I immediately started changing lanes to get to the right shoulder.  I wouldn’t have been so stinking freaked out if I could have put on my hazard lights but that would be pretty hard for me at this point in my life.  Last time used my hazards my entire hazard button got pushed into my dashboard and remained blinking on and off until I went to a dealer where they had to remove my dashboard to get the blinking button out and off.  After that, I vowed to never push the button again because it was just propped into the dash.  Lovely…So, flash forward again to me driving, no…coasting down I-25.  Yuck.  Luckily I got to the shoulder safely and I eventually got my car started again only after a call to my lucky husband Dan to say, through a bit of a sniffle that I never, ever, ever wanted that to happen again.  What a stupid “security” feature!!!!!  Hence, the drastic removal of my dash and all of its parts. 

this is how I feel about my car right now

this is how I feel about my car right now

Dan stayed up into the wee hours tinkering around and I think he figured out the major problem with the ignition and then he stayed up even later/earlier getting my car back into a drivable state.  Thank you, honey!  I drove it today with absolutely no problems which was such a relief after this past month of cursing it up and down. 

Oh my, I have really rambled it up tonight.  I better hit the sack, I’ve got a full day of color washing and then a shift at Starbucks.  Also, Dan and I have some packing to do for my Birthday trip to Palisade, CO for the peach festival this weekend.  Looking forward to it!

***update*** Dan just informed me that he only had one left-over screw after putting all of my car parts back together.  That’s so comforting.

4 responses

  1. LI Ashtangini

    While googling to find a replacement Starbucks cup, I stumbled on your blog entry. You are not the only one in love with the cup. Wherever I go people ooooh and aaaaah over it. I had two and I left one on my desk at work last night. I guess the cleaning staff thought it was trash and threw it out. Thank god I had the forethought to buy two! They are currently selling on Ebay for anywhere between $30 and $50. Honestly, I am giving serious thought to paying $30 and buying another one. I’m so sorry for your loss!!!! 🙂

    August 21, 2008 at 12:22 p

  2. Jen

    LI Ashtangini,
    Thanks for sharing your story. I’m so glad to share that I also have a happy ending to this story. My gift came back to me, listerally! Read more here:

    https://ellisondrive.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/return-to-sender/
    Jen

    August 23, 2008 at 11:51 p

  3. I thought I was the only one who obsessed on this cool cup. I call it my adult sippy cup and I guard it fiercely.

    However, my neighbor’s cute little boy chewed the plastic straw while I wasn’t looking and now I am hating that I didn’t buy two. You can’t even find the cup much less the straw.

    I feel for your loss, sister! Why did Starbucks do this to us? They are like drug dealers only they have cut us off! I am going to protest till they make us some more!

    Have a great day! And demand more from your local Starbucks!!

    October 10, 2008 at 2:51 p

  4. Pingback: Hold on, it’s a doozy. « The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

