Adventures in Wonderland

Things Dan and I have gotten to do while living in beautiful COLORADO: 

1.  Ride the Cog Railroad to the top of Pike’s Peak.  Who knew you could see sun, rain, fog, sun, rain, and then fog again all within a distance of about 10,000 feet?  Plus–now I know what a Marmot is. 

Foggy top mountain

Quick, take the pic!  We're COLD!

 It's a MARMOT!

2.  Drive through Estes Park and slow down for Elk next to the road and on the golf course. 

 What the ELK?

3.  Purchase a Rocky Mountain National Park pass and climb boulders in snow melted mountain streams.

Why didn't I wear my hiking boots?

Can you see those little people behind us?

This is the life

4.  Take a Nissan Maxima “off-road” up a small, winding, dirt road in RMNP.  I got to see more elk and then snow at the top—In AUGUST!

 Elk Crossing.  Does this remind you of Northern Exposure?Purple Mountains Magesty

Look honey, snow!

5.  Ride the lifts up at Copper Mountain only to ride the brakes on a mountain bike all the way back down.  I still much prefer the mountain in the snow with skis on my feet!

Happy Birthday to ME!

Why is this fun?

6.  Work, work, work.  Teaching art to middle school kiddos in two different schools in a small, agriculture community is hard, but very rewarding work!

2 responses

  1. Ah, welcome to the world of blogging! I’m so glad to hear from you. I’ve been thinking about you guys and wondering how things are going, so it’s good to see that I’ll have a way to keep up on the exciting life of the Colorado dwellers! I need to call you soon~ hopefully your number hasn’t changed… Love you!

    September 17, 2006 at 11:54 p

  2. Yeah! Blogging! So good to hear from you, and to know things are going well for you in Colorado. I’m jealous you get to live there. Milk it for all it’s worth.

    September 19, 2006 at 1:46 p

Leave a Reply

